Does Prince Arnaud cause someone holding the Princess to lose? Planned maintenance scheduled April 23, 2019 at 23:30 UTC (7:30pm US/Eastern) Announcing the arrival of Valued Associate #679: Cesar Manara Unicorn Meta Zoo #1: Why another podcast?How can we determine the winner in Love Letter if the last two players tie and have the same value of cards discarded?Love letter handmaiden card play

Married in secret, can marital status in passport be changed at a later date?

Why doesn't the university give past final exams' answers?

Why is ArcGIS Pro not symbolizing my entire range of values?

Why do people think Winterfell crypts is the safest place for women, children & old people?

A German immigrant ancestor has a "Registration Affidavit of Alien Enemy" on file. What does that mean exactly?

Why does my GNOME settings mention "Moto C Plus"?

What were wait-states, and why was it only an issue for PCs?

Why is one lightbulb in a string illuminated?

How do I deal with an erroneously large refund?

Trying to enter the Fox's den

Does using the Inspiration rules for character defects encourage My Guy Syndrome?

Is Bran literally the world's memory?

Why are two-digit numbers in Jonathan Swift's "Gulliver's Travels" (1726) written in "German style"?

Should man-made satellites feature an intelligent inverted "cow catcher"?

Does traveling In The United States require a passport or can I use my green card if not a US citizen?

Are bags of holding fireproof?

What is the difference between 准时 and 按时?

Unix AIX passing variable and arguments to expect and spawn

What's the difference between using dependency injection with a container and using a service locator?

How to ask rejected full-time candidates to apply to teach individual courses?

2 sample t test for sample sizes - 30,000 and 150,000

Meaning of "Not holding on that level of emuna/bitachon"

How to leave only the following strings?

Will I be more secure with my own Router behind my ISP's router?



Does Prince Arnaud cause someone holding the Princess to lose?



Planned maintenance scheduled April 23, 2019 at 23:30 UTC (7:30pm US/Eastern)
Announcing the arrival of Valued Associate #679: Cesar Manara
Unicorn Meta Zoo #1: Why another podcast?How can we determine the winner in Love Letter if the last two players tie and have the same value of cards discarded?Love letter handmaiden card play










6















The rules for Prince Arnaud say:




When you discard Prince Arnaud, choose one player still in the round (including yourself). That player discards his or her hand (do not apply its effect) and draws a new card.




but for the Princess, they say:




If you discard the Princess-no matter how or why-she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are knocked out of the round.




https://www.ultraboardgames.com/love-letter/the-people.php



If Prince Arnaud is used on someone holding the Princess, does that person lose due to discarding the Princess, or do they not apply its effect? Given that the wording of Prince Arnaud says "discards his or her hand" rather than "discards the card in his or her hand", does this count as discarding the Princess?










share|improve this question


























    6















    The rules for Prince Arnaud say:




    When you discard Prince Arnaud, choose one player still in the round (including yourself). That player discards his or her hand (do not apply its effect) and draws a new card.




    but for the Princess, they say:




    If you discard the Princess-no matter how or why-she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are knocked out of the round.




    https://www.ultraboardgames.com/love-letter/the-people.php



    If Prince Arnaud is used on someone holding the Princess, does that person lose due to discarding the Princess, or do they not apply its effect? Given that the wording of Prince Arnaud says "discards his or her hand" rather than "discards the card in his or her hand", does this count as discarding the Princess?










    share|improve this question
























      6












      6








      6








      The rules for Prince Arnaud say:




      When you discard Prince Arnaud, choose one player still in the round (including yourself). That player discards his or her hand (do not apply its effect) and draws a new card.




      but for the Princess, they say:




      If you discard the Princess-no matter how or why-she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are knocked out of the round.




      https://www.ultraboardgames.com/love-letter/the-people.php



      If Prince Arnaud is used on someone holding the Princess, does that person lose due to discarding the Princess, or do they not apply its effect? Given that the wording of Prince Arnaud says "discards his or her hand" rather than "discards the card in his or her hand", does this count as discarding the Princess?










      share|improve this question














      The rules for Prince Arnaud say:




      When you discard Prince Arnaud, choose one player still in the round (including yourself). That player discards his or her hand (do not apply its effect) and draws a new card.




      but for the Princess, they say:




      If you discard the Princess-no matter how or why-she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are knocked out of the round.




      https://www.ultraboardgames.com/love-letter/the-people.php



      If Prince Arnaud is used on someone holding the Princess, does that person lose due to discarding the Princess, or do they not apply its effect? Given that the wording of Prince Arnaud says "discards his or her hand" rather than "discards the card in his or her hand", does this count as discarding the Princess?







      love-letter






      share|improve this question













      share|improve this question











      share|improve this question




      share|improve this question










      asked 5 hours ago









      AcccumulationAcccumulation

      70618




      70618




















          2 Answers
          2






          active

          oldest

          votes


















          7














          Yes as the card says you lose the game. It doesn't matter how the princess gets into the discard pile but when it does the person who was holding it loses.




          If you discard the Princess-no matter how or why-she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are knocked out of the round.







          share|improve this answer






























            5














            The player does lose. The full rule book is explicit about this:




            If you discard the Princess—no matter how or why—she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are immediately knocked out of the round. If the Princess was discarded by a card effect, any remaining effects of that card do not apply (you do not draw a card from the Prince, for example). Effects tied to being knocked out the round still apply (eg. Constable, Jester), however.



            When you discard Prince Arnaud, choose one player still in the round (including yourself). That player discards his or her hand (but doesn’t apply its effect, unless it is the Princess, see page 8) and draws a new one.




            Using the prince on a player with the princess is one of the main ways to eliminate a player during the round. The big three are:



            • Using a guard (and either guessing correctly or having advance knowledge of their card from the King/Priest)

            • Using the Baron

            • Using the prince on a player with the princess





            share|improve this answer























              Your Answer








              StackExchange.ready(function()
              var channelOptions =
              tags: "".split(" "),
              id: "147"
              ;
              initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);

              StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function()
              // Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
              if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled)
              StackExchange.using("snippets", function()
              createEditor();
              );

              else
              createEditor();

              );

              function createEditor()
              StackExchange.prepareEditor(
              heartbeatType: 'answer',
              autoActivateHeartbeat: false,
              convertImagesToLinks: false,
              noModals: true,
              showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
              reputationToPostImages: null,
              bindNavPrevention: true,
              postfix: "",
              imageUploader:
              brandingHtml: "Powered by u003ca class="icon-imgur-white" href="https://imgur.com/"u003eu003c/au003e",
              contentPolicyHtml: "User contributions licensed under u003ca href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/"u003ecc by-sa 3.0 with attribution requiredu003c/au003e u003ca href="https://stackoverflow.com/legal/content-policy"u003e(content policy)u003c/au003e",
              allowUrls: true
              ,
              noCode: true, onDemand: true,
              discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
              ,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
              );



              );













              draft saved

              draft discarded


















              StackExchange.ready(
              function ()
              StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2fboardgames.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f45956%2fdoes-prince-arnaud-cause-someone-holding-the-princess-to-lose%23new-answer', 'question_page');

              );

              Post as a guest















              Required, but never shown

























              2 Answers
              2






              active

              oldest

              votes








              2 Answers
              2






              active

              oldest

              votes









              active

              oldest

              votes






              active

              oldest

              votes









              7














              Yes as the card says you lose the game. It doesn't matter how the princess gets into the discard pile but when it does the person who was holding it loses.




              If you discard the Princess-no matter how or why-she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are knocked out of the round.







              share|improve this answer



























                7














                Yes as the card says you lose the game. It doesn't matter how the princess gets into the discard pile but when it does the person who was holding it loses.




                If you discard the Princess-no matter how or why-she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are knocked out of the round.







                share|improve this answer

























                  7












                  7








                  7







                  Yes as the card says you lose the game. It doesn't matter how the princess gets into the discard pile but when it does the person who was holding it loses.




                  If you discard the Princess-no matter how or why-she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are knocked out of the round.







                  share|improve this answer













                  Yes as the card says you lose the game. It doesn't matter how the princess gets into the discard pile but when it does the person who was holding it loses.




                  If you discard the Princess-no matter how or why-she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are knocked out of the round.








                  share|improve this answer












                  share|improve this answer



                  share|improve this answer










                  answered 5 hours ago









                  Joe WJoe W

                  9,12823351




                  9,12823351





















                      5














                      The player does lose. The full rule book is explicit about this:




                      If you discard the Princess—no matter how or why—she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are immediately knocked out of the round. If the Princess was discarded by a card effect, any remaining effects of that card do not apply (you do not draw a card from the Prince, for example). Effects tied to being knocked out the round still apply (eg. Constable, Jester), however.



                      When you discard Prince Arnaud, choose one player still in the round (including yourself). That player discards his or her hand (but doesn’t apply its effect, unless it is the Princess, see page 8) and draws a new one.




                      Using the prince on a player with the princess is one of the main ways to eliminate a player during the round. The big three are:



                      • Using a guard (and either guessing correctly or having advance knowledge of their card from the King/Priest)

                      • Using the Baron

                      • Using the prince on a player with the princess





                      share|improve this answer



























                        5














                        The player does lose. The full rule book is explicit about this:




                        If you discard the Princess—no matter how or why—she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are immediately knocked out of the round. If the Princess was discarded by a card effect, any remaining effects of that card do not apply (you do not draw a card from the Prince, for example). Effects tied to being knocked out the round still apply (eg. Constable, Jester), however.



                        When you discard Prince Arnaud, choose one player still in the round (including yourself). That player discards his or her hand (but doesn’t apply its effect, unless it is the Princess, see page 8) and draws a new one.




                        Using the prince on a player with the princess is one of the main ways to eliminate a player during the round. The big three are:



                        • Using a guard (and either guessing correctly or having advance knowledge of their card from the King/Priest)

                        • Using the Baron

                        • Using the prince on a player with the princess





                        share|improve this answer

























                          5












                          5








                          5







                          The player does lose. The full rule book is explicit about this:




                          If you discard the Princess—no matter how or why—she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are immediately knocked out of the round. If the Princess was discarded by a card effect, any remaining effects of that card do not apply (you do not draw a card from the Prince, for example). Effects tied to being knocked out the round still apply (eg. Constable, Jester), however.



                          When you discard Prince Arnaud, choose one player still in the round (including yourself). That player discards his or her hand (but doesn’t apply its effect, unless it is the Princess, see page 8) and draws a new one.




                          Using the prince on a player with the princess is one of the main ways to eliminate a player during the round. The big three are:



                          • Using a guard (and either guessing correctly or having advance knowledge of their card from the King/Priest)

                          • Using the Baron

                          • Using the prince on a player with the princess





                          share|improve this answer













                          The player does lose. The full rule book is explicit about this:




                          If you discard the Princess—no matter how or why—she has tossed your letter into the fire. You are immediately knocked out of the round. If the Princess was discarded by a card effect, any remaining effects of that card do not apply (you do not draw a card from the Prince, for example). Effects tied to being knocked out the round still apply (eg. Constable, Jester), however.



                          When you discard Prince Arnaud, choose one player still in the round (including yourself). That player discards his or her hand (but doesn’t apply its effect, unless it is the Princess, see page 8) and draws a new one.




                          Using the prince on a player with the princess is one of the main ways to eliminate a player during the round. The big three are:



                          • Using a guard (and either guessing correctly or having advance knowledge of their card from the King/Priest)

                          • Using the Baron

                          • Using the prince on a player with the princess






                          share|improve this answer












                          share|improve this answer



                          share|improve this answer










                          answered 5 hours ago









                          ZagsZags

                          7,94831766




                          7,94831766



























                              draft saved

                              draft discarded
















































                              Thanks for contributing an answer to Board & Card Games Stack Exchange!


                              • Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

                              But avoid


                              • Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.

                              • Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.

                              To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.




                              draft saved


                              draft discarded














                              StackExchange.ready(
                              function ()
                              StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2fboardgames.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f45956%2fdoes-prince-arnaud-cause-someone-holding-the-princess-to-lose%23new-answer', 'question_page');

                              );

                              Post as a guest















                              Required, but never shown





















































                              Required, but never shown














                              Required, but never shown












                              Required, but never shown







                              Required, but never shown

































                              Required, but never shown














                              Required, but never shown












                              Required, but never shown







                              Required, but never shown







                              Popular posts from this blog

                              ValueError: Error when checking input: expected conv2d_13_input to have shape (3, 150, 150) but got array with shape (150, 150, 3)2019 Community Moderator ElectionError when checking : expected dense_1_input to have shape (None, 5) but got array with shape (200, 1)Error 'Expected 2D array, got 1D array instead:'ValueError: Error when checking input: expected lstm_41_input to have 3 dimensions, but got array with shape (40000,100)ValueError: Error when checking target: expected dense_1 to have shape (7,) but got array with shape (1,)ValueError: Error when checking target: expected dense_2 to have shape (1,) but got array with shape (0,)Keras exception: ValueError: Error when checking input: expected conv2d_1_input to have shape (150, 150, 3) but got array with shape (256, 256, 3)Steps taking too long to completewhen checking input: expected dense_1_input to have shape (13328,) but got array with shape (317,)ValueError: Error when checking target: expected dense_3 to have shape (None, 1) but got array with shape (7715, 40000)Keras exception: Error when checking input: expected dense_input to have shape (2,) but got array with shape (1,)

                              Ружовы пелікан Змест Знешні выгляд | Пашырэнне | Асаблівасці біялогіі | Літаратура | НавігацыяДагледжаная версіяправерана1 зменаДагледжаная версіяправерана1 змена/ 22697590 Сістэматыкана ВіківідахВыявына Вікісховішчы174693363011049382

                              Illegal assignment from SObject to ContactFetching String, Id from Map - Illegal Assignment Id to Field / ObjectError: Compile Error: Illegal assignment from String to BooleanError: List has no rows for assignment to SObjectError on Test Class - System.QueryException: List has no rows for assignment to SObjectRemote action problemDML requires SObject or SObject list type error“Illegal assignment from List to List”Test Class Fail: Batch Class: System.QueryException: List has no rows for assignment to SObjectMapping to a user'List has no rows for assignment to SObject' Mystery