Can a College of Swords bard use a Blade Flourish option on an opportunity attack provoked by their own Dissonant Whispers spell?What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean?Can I trigger an Opportunity Attack by forcing an opponent to move out of my reach?Does the Warcaster feat grant ranged spell attacks in melee range without disadvantage?Can you chain Tempestuous magic and War Caster?Can a failed opportunity attack against a character protected by the sanctuary spell retarget someone else?Can blade flourish be used with ranged attacks?Blade Flourish: can we take Attack action when not in range of enemy?Does War Caster let you cast Green-Flame Blade instead of an attack of opportunity?Can you combine Polearm Master with War Caster to cast Booming Blade as enemies approach?Is Resistance/Vulnerability applied before or after Cutting Words?If you have the War Caster feat and cast Booming Blade as a reaction, does it count as an opportunity attack for the UA Blade Mastery feat?At what point in a creature's movement does an opportunity attack take place?

Why should universal income be universal?

When were female captains banned from Starfleet?

This is why we puzzle

Why did the EU agree to delay the Brexit deadline?

Quoting Keynes in a lecture

What is going on with 'gets(stdin)' on the site coderbyte?

How can mimic phobia be cured?

Can disgust be a key component of horror?

It grows, but water kills it

Redundant comparison & "if" before assignment

Using substitution ciphers to generate new alphabets in a novel

What are some good ways to treat frozen vegetables such that they behave like fresh vegetables when stir frying them?

Has any country ever had 2 former presidents in jail simultaneously?

What are the advantages of simplicial model categories over non-simplicial ones?

What if a revenant (monster) gains fire resistance?

Add big quotation marks inside my colorbox

Is this toilet slogan correct usage of the English language?

Why is the "ls" command showing permissions of files in a FAT32 partition?

What does "Scientists rise up against statistical significance" mean? (Comment in Nature)

Why is so much work done on numerical verification of the Riemann Hypothesis?

Why can Carol Danvers change her suit colours in the first place?

Strong empirical falsification of quantum mechanics based on vacuum energy density

How do I delete all blank lines in a buffer?

Yosemite Fire Rings - What to Expect?



Can a College of Swords bard use a Blade Flourish option on an opportunity attack provoked by their own Dissonant Whispers spell?


What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean?Can I trigger an Opportunity Attack by forcing an opponent to move out of my reach?Does the Warcaster feat grant ranged spell attacks in melee range without disadvantage?Can you chain Tempestuous magic and War Caster?Can a failed opportunity attack against a character protected by the sanctuary spell retarget someone else?Can blade flourish be used with ranged attacks?Blade Flourish: can we take Attack action when not in range of enemy?Does War Caster let you cast Green-Flame Blade instead of an attack of opportunity?Can you combine Polearm Master with War Caster to cast Booming Blade as enemies approach?Is Resistance/Vulnerability applied before or after Cutting Words?If you have the War Caster feat and cast Booming Blade as a reaction, does it count as an opportunity attack for the UA Blade Mastery feat?At what point in a creature's movement does an opportunity attack take place?













7












$begingroup$


Consider this scenario: a College of Swords bard uses dissonant whispers on a creature within 5 feet of him while he is holding a melee weapon. The creature fails the save and has to immediately use its reaction to move away. In my understanding, this movement provokes opportunity attacks. So:



  1. Would the caster also be entitled to an opportunity attack?

  2. If so, would he be able to augment his opportunity attack with a
    blade flourish?









share|improve this question











$endgroup$







  • 1




    $begingroup$
    Related: Can I trigger an Opportunity Attack by forcing an opponent to move out of my reach?
    $endgroup$
    – Rubiksmoose
    10 hours ago















7












$begingroup$


Consider this scenario: a College of Swords bard uses dissonant whispers on a creature within 5 feet of him while he is holding a melee weapon. The creature fails the save and has to immediately use its reaction to move away. In my understanding, this movement provokes opportunity attacks. So:



  1. Would the caster also be entitled to an opportunity attack?

  2. If so, would he be able to augment his opportunity attack with a
    blade flourish?









share|improve this question











$endgroup$







  • 1




    $begingroup$
    Related: Can I trigger an Opportunity Attack by forcing an opponent to move out of my reach?
    $endgroup$
    – Rubiksmoose
    10 hours ago













7












7








7





$begingroup$


Consider this scenario: a College of Swords bard uses dissonant whispers on a creature within 5 feet of him while he is holding a melee weapon. The creature fails the save and has to immediately use its reaction to move away. In my understanding, this movement provokes opportunity attacks. So:



  1. Would the caster also be entitled to an opportunity attack?

  2. If so, would he be able to augment his opportunity attack with a
    blade flourish?









share|improve this question











$endgroup$




Consider this scenario: a College of Swords bard uses dissonant whispers on a creature within 5 feet of him while he is holding a melee weapon. The creature fails the save and has to immediately use its reaction to move away. In my understanding, this movement provokes opportunity attacks. So:



  1. Would the caster also be entitled to an opportunity attack?

  2. If so, would he be able to augment his opportunity attack with a
    blade flourish?






dnd-5e spells class-feature opportunity-attack bard






share|improve this question















share|improve this question













share|improve this question




share|improve this question








edited 30 mins ago









V2Blast

25.4k486156




25.4k486156










asked 10 hours ago









Johnny RumJohnny Rum

2088




2088







  • 1




    $begingroup$
    Related: Can I trigger an Opportunity Attack by forcing an opponent to move out of my reach?
    $endgroup$
    – Rubiksmoose
    10 hours ago












  • 1




    $begingroup$
    Related: Can I trigger an Opportunity Attack by forcing an opponent to move out of my reach?
    $endgroup$
    – Rubiksmoose
    10 hours ago







1




1




$begingroup$
Related: Can I trigger an Opportunity Attack by forcing an opponent to move out of my reach?
$endgroup$
– Rubiksmoose
10 hours ago




$begingroup$
Related: Can I trigger an Opportunity Attack by forcing an opponent to move out of my reach?
$endgroup$
– Rubiksmoose
10 hours ago










3 Answers
3






active

oldest

votes


















14












$begingroup$

Two questions here really, but:



1) Yes.



Even though opportunity attacks do not occur for forced movement, the rule for this actually says:




You do not provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when
something moves you without using your movement, action or reaction.




Dissonant Whispers however is a bit of an oddball, as it forces the target to: "use its reaction, if available, to move".



So the target is using its own reaction to move and is thus eligible for opportunity attacks.



2) No



You use a blade flourish on your turn as part of the Attack action. An opportunity provides you with an attack (lower-case 'a'), but it is not your Attack action (upper-case 'A').






share|improve this answer









$endgroup$








  • 1




    $begingroup$
    Support for first part in this sage advice
    $endgroup$
    – Sdjz
    10 hours ago










  • $begingroup$
    Are the rules consistent about capitalizing "Attack" when it is the action as opposed to any old swing of a sword? I have said this myself and seen it said too but am actually unsure.
    $endgroup$
    – Captain Man
    8 hours ago










  • $begingroup$
    @CaptainMan See What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean? for more information on those questions. (tl;dr, yes they are consistent)
    $endgroup$
    – Rubiksmoose
    8 hours ago











  • $begingroup$
    @Captain Man. They do seem consistent here. E.g, The basic rules of "Actions in Combat" (PHB, pg192) says "The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, ...<snip>. With this action you make one melee or ranged attack...."
    $endgroup$
    – PJRZ
    8 hours ago







  • 2




    $begingroup$
    @CaptainMan The rules generally use the phrase "the Attack action" when that's what's meant. For example, a 5th-level fighter's Extra Attack applies "whenever you take the Attack action on your turn". The capitalization is less reliable.
    $endgroup$
    – Mark Wells
    8 hours ago


















10












$begingroup$

1. Yes, the caster gets an Opportunity Attack



Since the creature is using its reaction to move away, that movement provokes an Opportunity Attack from an creature whose reach it leaves.




You do not provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when
something moves you without using your movement, action or reaction.




In case there was any doubt, Crawford has unofficially supported this ruling in a tweet.



If it leaves the caster's then they provoke from them as well and they can use a reaction to take the attack against them.



You can see Can I trigger an Opportunity Attack by forcing an opponent to move out of my reach? for more examples and discussion about forced movement provoking OAs.



2. No, you cannot use Blade flourish on the Opportunity Attack



Blade Flourish (XGtE, p. 15) only works when you take the Attack action:




Whenever you take the Attack action on your turn [...]




The bard did not take the Attack action this round, they took the Cast a Spell action instead. An opportunity attack is an attack, but it is made outside of an Attack action, so it will not trigger the Blade Flourish ability.



See What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean? for more information on the distinction between the two.






share|improve this answer











$endgroup$




















    5












    $begingroup$

    Two parter...



    1. Yes, you get an Opportunity Attack



    Assuming you have not already used your Reaction in this round. Normally, you do not when a creature is forced to move (via shove, thunderer wave, force wave, etx.), but Dissonant Whispers is different in that the movement is by the creature's Reaction; mandatory, but under the creature's control.



    2. No, you didn't use an Attack action for your turn.



    Per the feature, "Whenever you take the Attack action on your turn..." You did not take the Attack (big A) action this turn, you took the "Cast a spell" action this turn so Blade Flourish doesn't come into play.






    share|improve this answer









    $endgroup$












      Your Answer





      StackExchange.ifUsing("editor", function ()
      return StackExchange.using("mathjaxEditing", function ()
      StackExchange.MarkdownEditor.creationCallbacks.add(function (editor, postfix)
      StackExchange.mathjaxEditing.prepareWmdForMathJax(editor, postfix, [["\$", "\$"]]);
      );
      );
      , "mathjax-editing");

      StackExchange.ready(function()
      var channelOptions =
      tags: "".split(" "),
      id: "122"
      ;
      initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);

      StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function()
      // Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
      if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled)
      StackExchange.using("snippets", function()
      createEditor();
      );

      else
      createEditor();

      );

      function createEditor()
      StackExchange.prepareEditor(
      heartbeatType: 'answer',
      autoActivateHeartbeat: false,
      convertImagesToLinks: false,
      noModals: true,
      showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
      reputationToPostImages: null,
      bindNavPrevention: true,
      postfix: "",
      imageUploader:
      brandingHtml: "Powered by u003ca class="icon-imgur-white" href="https://imgur.com/"u003eu003c/au003e",
      contentPolicyHtml: "User contributions licensed under u003ca href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0/"u003ecc by-sa 3.0 with attribution requiredu003c/au003e u003ca href="https://stackoverflow.com/legal/content-policy"u003e(content policy)u003c/au003e",
      allowUrls: true
      ,
      noCode: true, onDemand: true,
      discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
      ,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
      );



      );













      draft saved

      draft discarded


















      StackExchange.ready(
      function ()
      StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f143716%2fcan-a-college-of-swords-bard-use-a-blade-flourish-option-on-an-opportunity-attac%23new-answer', 'question_page');

      );

      Post as a guest















      Required, but never shown

























      3 Answers
      3






      active

      oldest

      votes








      3 Answers
      3






      active

      oldest

      votes









      active

      oldest

      votes






      active

      oldest

      votes









      14












      $begingroup$

      Two questions here really, but:



      1) Yes.



      Even though opportunity attacks do not occur for forced movement, the rule for this actually says:




      You do not provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when
      something moves you without using your movement, action or reaction.




      Dissonant Whispers however is a bit of an oddball, as it forces the target to: "use its reaction, if available, to move".



      So the target is using its own reaction to move and is thus eligible for opportunity attacks.



      2) No



      You use a blade flourish on your turn as part of the Attack action. An opportunity provides you with an attack (lower-case 'a'), but it is not your Attack action (upper-case 'A').






      share|improve this answer









      $endgroup$








      • 1




        $begingroup$
        Support for first part in this sage advice
        $endgroup$
        – Sdjz
        10 hours ago










      • $begingroup$
        Are the rules consistent about capitalizing "Attack" when it is the action as opposed to any old swing of a sword? I have said this myself and seen it said too but am actually unsure.
        $endgroup$
        – Captain Man
        8 hours ago










      • $begingroup$
        @CaptainMan See What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean? for more information on those questions. (tl;dr, yes they are consistent)
        $endgroup$
        – Rubiksmoose
        8 hours ago











      • $begingroup$
        @Captain Man. They do seem consistent here. E.g, The basic rules of "Actions in Combat" (PHB, pg192) says "The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, ...<snip>. With this action you make one melee or ranged attack...."
        $endgroup$
        – PJRZ
        8 hours ago







      • 2




        $begingroup$
        @CaptainMan The rules generally use the phrase "the Attack action" when that's what's meant. For example, a 5th-level fighter's Extra Attack applies "whenever you take the Attack action on your turn". The capitalization is less reliable.
        $endgroup$
        – Mark Wells
        8 hours ago















      14












      $begingroup$

      Two questions here really, but:



      1) Yes.



      Even though opportunity attacks do not occur for forced movement, the rule for this actually says:




      You do not provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when
      something moves you without using your movement, action or reaction.




      Dissonant Whispers however is a bit of an oddball, as it forces the target to: "use its reaction, if available, to move".



      So the target is using its own reaction to move and is thus eligible for opportunity attacks.



      2) No



      You use a blade flourish on your turn as part of the Attack action. An opportunity provides you with an attack (lower-case 'a'), but it is not your Attack action (upper-case 'A').






      share|improve this answer









      $endgroup$








      • 1




        $begingroup$
        Support for first part in this sage advice
        $endgroup$
        – Sdjz
        10 hours ago










      • $begingroup$
        Are the rules consistent about capitalizing "Attack" when it is the action as opposed to any old swing of a sword? I have said this myself and seen it said too but am actually unsure.
        $endgroup$
        – Captain Man
        8 hours ago










      • $begingroup$
        @CaptainMan See What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean? for more information on those questions. (tl;dr, yes they are consistent)
        $endgroup$
        – Rubiksmoose
        8 hours ago











      • $begingroup$
        @Captain Man. They do seem consistent here. E.g, The basic rules of "Actions in Combat" (PHB, pg192) says "The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, ...<snip>. With this action you make one melee or ranged attack...."
        $endgroup$
        – PJRZ
        8 hours ago







      • 2




        $begingroup$
        @CaptainMan The rules generally use the phrase "the Attack action" when that's what's meant. For example, a 5th-level fighter's Extra Attack applies "whenever you take the Attack action on your turn". The capitalization is less reliable.
        $endgroup$
        – Mark Wells
        8 hours ago













      14












      14








      14





      $begingroup$

      Two questions here really, but:



      1) Yes.



      Even though opportunity attacks do not occur for forced movement, the rule for this actually says:




      You do not provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when
      something moves you without using your movement, action or reaction.




      Dissonant Whispers however is a bit of an oddball, as it forces the target to: "use its reaction, if available, to move".



      So the target is using its own reaction to move and is thus eligible for opportunity attacks.



      2) No



      You use a blade flourish on your turn as part of the Attack action. An opportunity provides you with an attack (lower-case 'a'), but it is not your Attack action (upper-case 'A').






      share|improve this answer









      $endgroup$



      Two questions here really, but:



      1) Yes.



      Even though opportunity attacks do not occur for forced movement, the rule for this actually says:




      You do not provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when
      something moves you without using your movement, action or reaction.




      Dissonant Whispers however is a bit of an oddball, as it forces the target to: "use its reaction, if available, to move".



      So the target is using its own reaction to move and is thus eligible for opportunity attacks.



      2) No



      You use a blade flourish on your turn as part of the Attack action. An opportunity provides you with an attack (lower-case 'a'), but it is not your Attack action (upper-case 'A').







      share|improve this answer












      share|improve this answer



      share|improve this answer










      answered 10 hours ago









      PJRZPJRZ

      11.7k13457




      11.7k13457







      • 1




        $begingroup$
        Support for first part in this sage advice
        $endgroup$
        – Sdjz
        10 hours ago










      • $begingroup$
        Are the rules consistent about capitalizing "Attack" when it is the action as opposed to any old swing of a sword? I have said this myself and seen it said too but am actually unsure.
        $endgroup$
        – Captain Man
        8 hours ago










      • $begingroup$
        @CaptainMan See What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean? for more information on those questions. (tl;dr, yes they are consistent)
        $endgroup$
        – Rubiksmoose
        8 hours ago











      • $begingroup$
        @Captain Man. They do seem consistent here. E.g, The basic rules of "Actions in Combat" (PHB, pg192) says "The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, ...<snip>. With this action you make one melee or ranged attack...."
        $endgroup$
        – PJRZ
        8 hours ago







      • 2




        $begingroup$
        @CaptainMan The rules generally use the phrase "the Attack action" when that's what's meant. For example, a 5th-level fighter's Extra Attack applies "whenever you take the Attack action on your turn". The capitalization is less reliable.
        $endgroup$
        – Mark Wells
        8 hours ago












      • 1




        $begingroup$
        Support for first part in this sage advice
        $endgroup$
        – Sdjz
        10 hours ago










      • $begingroup$
        Are the rules consistent about capitalizing "Attack" when it is the action as opposed to any old swing of a sword? I have said this myself and seen it said too but am actually unsure.
        $endgroup$
        – Captain Man
        8 hours ago










      • $begingroup$
        @CaptainMan See What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean? for more information on those questions. (tl;dr, yes they are consistent)
        $endgroup$
        – Rubiksmoose
        8 hours ago











      • $begingroup$
        @Captain Man. They do seem consistent here. E.g, The basic rules of "Actions in Combat" (PHB, pg192) says "The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, ...<snip>. With this action you make one melee or ranged attack...."
        $endgroup$
        – PJRZ
        8 hours ago







      • 2




        $begingroup$
        @CaptainMan The rules generally use the phrase "the Attack action" when that's what's meant. For example, a 5th-level fighter's Extra Attack applies "whenever you take the Attack action on your turn". The capitalization is less reliable.
        $endgroup$
        – Mark Wells
        8 hours ago







      1




      1




      $begingroup$
      Support for first part in this sage advice
      $endgroup$
      – Sdjz
      10 hours ago




      $begingroup$
      Support for first part in this sage advice
      $endgroup$
      – Sdjz
      10 hours ago












      $begingroup$
      Are the rules consistent about capitalizing "Attack" when it is the action as opposed to any old swing of a sword? I have said this myself and seen it said too but am actually unsure.
      $endgroup$
      – Captain Man
      8 hours ago




      $begingroup$
      Are the rules consistent about capitalizing "Attack" when it is the action as opposed to any old swing of a sword? I have said this myself and seen it said too but am actually unsure.
      $endgroup$
      – Captain Man
      8 hours ago












      $begingroup$
      @CaptainMan See What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean? for more information on those questions. (tl;dr, yes they are consistent)
      $endgroup$
      – Rubiksmoose
      8 hours ago





      $begingroup$
      @CaptainMan See What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean? for more information on those questions. (tl;dr, yes they are consistent)
      $endgroup$
      – Rubiksmoose
      8 hours ago













      $begingroup$
      @Captain Man. They do seem consistent here. E.g, The basic rules of "Actions in Combat" (PHB, pg192) says "The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, ...<snip>. With this action you make one melee or ranged attack...."
      $endgroup$
      – PJRZ
      8 hours ago





      $begingroup$
      @Captain Man. They do seem consistent here. E.g, The basic rules of "Actions in Combat" (PHB, pg192) says "The most common action to take in combat is the Attack action, ...<snip>. With this action you make one melee or ranged attack...."
      $endgroup$
      – PJRZ
      8 hours ago





      2




      2




      $begingroup$
      @CaptainMan The rules generally use the phrase "the Attack action" when that's what's meant. For example, a 5th-level fighter's Extra Attack applies "whenever you take the Attack action on your turn". The capitalization is less reliable.
      $endgroup$
      – Mark Wells
      8 hours ago




      $begingroup$
      @CaptainMan The rules generally use the phrase "the Attack action" when that's what's meant. For example, a 5th-level fighter's Extra Attack applies "whenever you take the Attack action on your turn". The capitalization is less reliable.
      $endgroup$
      – Mark Wells
      8 hours ago













      10












      $begingroup$

      1. Yes, the caster gets an Opportunity Attack



      Since the creature is using its reaction to move away, that movement provokes an Opportunity Attack from an creature whose reach it leaves.




      You do not provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when
      something moves you without using your movement, action or reaction.




      In case there was any doubt, Crawford has unofficially supported this ruling in a tweet.



      If it leaves the caster's then they provoke from them as well and they can use a reaction to take the attack against them.



      You can see Can I trigger an Opportunity Attack by forcing an opponent to move out of my reach? for more examples and discussion about forced movement provoking OAs.



      2. No, you cannot use Blade flourish on the Opportunity Attack



      Blade Flourish (XGtE, p. 15) only works when you take the Attack action:




      Whenever you take the Attack action on your turn [...]




      The bard did not take the Attack action this round, they took the Cast a Spell action instead. An opportunity attack is an attack, but it is made outside of an Attack action, so it will not trigger the Blade Flourish ability.



      See What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean? for more information on the distinction between the two.






      share|improve this answer











      $endgroup$

















        10












        $begingroup$

        1. Yes, the caster gets an Opportunity Attack



        Since the creature is using its reaction to move away, that movement provokes an Opportunity Attack from an creature whose reach it leaves.




        You do not provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when
        something moves you without using your movement, action or reaction.




        In case there was any doubt, Crawford has unofficially supported this ruling in a tweet.



        If it leaves the caster's then they provoke from them as well and they can use a reaction to take the attack against them.



        You can see Can I trigger an Opportunity Attack by forcing an opponent to move out of my reach? for more examples and discussion about forced movement provoking OAs.



        2. No, you cannot use Blade flourish on the Opportunity Attack



        Blade Flourish (XGtE, p. 15) only works when you take the Attack action:




        Whenever you take the Attack action on your turn [...]




        The bard did not take the Attack action this round, they took the Cast a Spell action instead. An opportunity attack is an attack, but it is made outside of an Attack action, so it will not trigger the Blade Flourish ability.



        See What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean? for more information on the distinction between the two.






        share|improve this answer











        $endgroup$















          10












          10








          10





          $begingroup$

          1. Yes, the caster gets an Opportunity Attack



          Since the creature is using its reaction to move away, that movement provokes an Opportunity Attack from an creature whose reach it leaves.




          You do not provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when
          something moves you without using your movement, action or reaction.




          In case there was any doubt, Crawford has unofficially supported this ruling in a tweet.



          If it leaves the caster's then they provoke from them as well and they can use a reaction to take the attack against them.



          You can see Can I trigger an Opportunity Attack by forcing an opponent to move out of my reach? for more examples and discussion about forced movement provoking OAs.



          2. No, you cannot use Blade flourish on the Opportunity Attack



          Blade Flourish (XGtE, p. 15) only works when you take the Attack action:




          Whenever you take the Attack action on your turn [...]




          The bard did not take the Attack action this round, they took the Cast a Spell action instead. An opportunity attack is an attack, but it is made outside of an Attack action, so it will not trigger the Blade Flourish ability.



          See What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean? for more information on the distinction between the two.






          share|improve this answer











          $endgroup$



          1. Yes, the caster gets an Opportunity Attack



          Since the creature is using its reaction to move away, that movement provokes an Opportunity Attack from an creature whose reach it leaves.




          You do not provoke an opportunity attack when you teleport or when
          something moves you without using your movement, action or reaction.




          In case there was any doubt, Crawford has unofficially supported this ruling in a tweet.



          If it leaves the caster's then they provoke from them as well and they can use a reaction to take the attack against them.



          You can see Can I trigger an Opportunity Attack by forcing an opponent to move out of my reach? for more examples and discussion about forced movement provoking OAs.



          2. No, you cannot use Blade flourish on the Opportunity Attack



          Blade Flourish (XGtE, p. 15) only works when you take the Attack action:




          Whenever you take the Attack action on your turn [...]




          The bard did not take the Attack action this round, they took the Cast a Spell action instead. An opportunity attack is an attack, but it is made outside of an Attack action, so it will not trigger the Blade Flourish ability.



          See What does upper-case-A-Attack action vs. lower-case-a-attack mean? for more information on the distinction between the two.







          share|improve this answer














          share|improve this answer



          share|improve this answer








          edited 28 mins ago









          V2Blast

          25.4k486156




          25.4k486156










          answered 10 hours ago









          RubiksmooseRubiksmoose

          59.1k10285437




          59.1k10285437





















              5












              $begingroup$

              Two parter...



              1. Yes, you get an Opportunity Attack



              Assuming you have not already used your Reaction in this round. Normally, you do not when a creature is forced to move (via shove, thunderer wave, force wave, etx.), but Dissonant Whispers is different in that the movement is by the creature's Reaction; mandatory, but under the creature's control.



              2. No, you didn't use an Attack action for your turn.



              Per the feature, "Whenever you take the Attack action on your turn..." You did not take the Attack (big A) action this turn, you took the "Cast a spell" action this turn so Blade Flourish doesn't come into play.






              share|improve this answer









              $endgroup$

















                5












                $begingroup$

                Two parter...



                1. Yes, you get an Opportunity Attack



                Assuming you have not already used your Reaction in this round. Normally, you do not when a creature is forced to move (via shove, thunderer wave, force wave, etx.), but Dissonant Whispers is different in that the movement is by the creature's Reaction; mandatory, but under the creature's control.



                2. No, you didn't use an Attack action for your turn.



                Per the feature, "Whenever you take the Attack action on your turn..." You did not take the Attack (big A) action this turn, you took the "Cast a spell" action this turn so Blade Flourish doesn't come into play.






                share|improve this answer









                $endgroup$















                  5












                  5








                  5





                  $begingroup$

                  Two parter...



                  1. Yes, you get an Opportunity Attack



                  Assuming you have not already used your Reaction in this round. Normally, you do not when a creature is forced to move (via shove, thunderer wave, force wave, etx.), but Dissonant Whispers is different in that the movement is by the creature's Reaction; mandatory, but under the creature's control.



                  2. No, you didn't use an Attack action for your turn.



                  Per the feature, "Whenever you take the Attack action on your turn..." You did not take the Attack (big A) action this turn, you took the "Cast a spell" action this turn so Blade Flourish doesn't come into play.






                  share|improve this answer









                  $endgroup$



                  Two parter...



                  1. Yes, you get an Opportunity Attack



                  Assuming you have not already used your Reaction in this round. Normally, you do not when a creature is forced to move (via shove, thunderer wave, force wave, etx.), but Dissonant Whispers is different in that the movement is by the creature's Reaction; mandatory, but under the creature's control.



                  2. No, you didn't use an Attack action for your turn.



                  Per the feature, "Whenever you take the Attack action on your turn..." You did not take the Attack (big A) action this turn, you took the "Cast a spell" action this turn so Blade Flourish doesn't come into play.







                  share|improve this answer












                  share|improve this answer



                  share|improve this answer










                  answered 10 hours ago









                  MivaScottMivaScott

                  6,40611345




                  6,40611345



























                      draft saved

                      draft discarded
















































                      Thanks for contributing an answer to Role-playing Games Stack Exchange!


                      • Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!

                      But avoid


                      • Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.

                      • Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.

                      Use MathJax to format equations. MathJax reference.


                      To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.




                      draft saved


                      draft discarded














                      StackExchange.ready(
                      function ()
                      StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f143716%2fcan-a-college-of-swords-bard-use-a-blade-flourish-option-on-an-opportunity-attac%23new-answer', 'question_page');

                      );

                      Post as a guest















                      Required, but never shown





















































                      Required, but never shown














                      Required, but never shown












                      Required, but never shown







                      Required, but never shown

































                      Required, but never shown














                      Required, but never shown












                      Required, but never shown







                      Required, but never shown







                      Popular posts from this blog

                      ValueError: Error when checking input: expected conv2d_13_input to have shape (3, 150, 150) but got array with shape (150, 150, 3)2019 Community Moderator ElectionError when checking : expected dense_1_input to have shape (None, 5) but got array with shape (200, 1)Error 'Expected 2D array, got 1D array instead:'ValueError: Error when checking input: expected lstm_41_input to have 3 dimensions, but got array with shape (40000,100)ValueError: Error when checking target: expected dense_1 to have shape (7,) but got array with shape (1,)ValueError: Error when checking target: expected dense_2 to have shape (1,) but got array with shape (0,)Keras exception: ValueError: Error when checking input: expected conv2d_1_input to have shape (150, 150, 3) but got array with shape (256, 256, 3)Steps taking too long to completewhen checking input: expected dense_1_input to have shape (13328,) but got array with shape (317,)ValueError: Error when checking target: expected dense_3 to have shape (None, 1) but got array with shape (7715, 40000)Keras exception: Error when checking input: expected dense_input to have shape (2,) but got array with shape (1,)

                      Ружовы пелікан Змест Знешні выгляд | Пашырэнне | Асаблівасці біялогіі | Літаратура | НавігацыяДагледжаная версіяправерана1 зменаДагледжаная версіяправерана1 змена/ 22697590 Сістэматыкана ВіківідахВыявына Вікісховішчы174693363011049382

                      Illegal assignment from SObject to ContactFetching String, Id from Map - Illegal Assignment Id to Field / ObjectError: Compile Error: Illegal assignment from String to BooleanError: List has no rows for assignment to SObjectError on Test Class - System.QueryException: List has no rows for assignment to SObjectRemote action problemDML requires SObject or SObject list type error“Illegal assignment from List to List”Test Class Fail: Batch Class: System.QueryException: List has no rows for assignment to SObjectMapping to a user'List has no rows for assignment to SObject' Mystery